Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

London May 16, 2013 040After we returned from our trip to WCC (Geneva), my son voluntarily wrote this blog about his trip.  It is unbelievable that he wrote this blog on his own initiative.  I hope you enjoy it.  I inserted a few pictures for your interest.

My mom was speaking and attending a WCC meeting in Geneva, May 17, 2013.  She took me with her.  It was a very exciting trip.

On our way to Switzerland, we had an eight hour layover at Heathrow airport, so we visited some interesting places in London.  We took the train into London and our first stop was Buckingham Palace.  The Palace was enormous and there was some parade on the street.  We also saw the changing of the guards at the Palace.  It was neat.

London May 16, 2013 137Next, I saw Big Ben. We didn’t get to go up close to it because there were guards in the front gate. Then we saw West Minister Abbey Cathedral which was so big and beautiful.  Then we saw the London eye which is a big Ferris wheel.

Afterwards, we went to see the London Tower Bridge.  It was quite interesting as there is an old fort nearby.

In Geneva, we stayed at the Bossey Institute.  My mom gave a talk about the Korean Church at the WCC building.  It is a big nice building with a large chapel inside.  My mom said a prayer there.

Geneva 4 May 20, 2013 048

Dr. Guillermo Kerber-Mas: Programme Executive for Care for Creation and Climate Justice. We are in Nyon.

After the 3 day meeting, we went into Geneva.  I finally saw Jet d’eau.  I wanted to see it before the trip.  We walked near the fountain but did not get wet because my mom was scared that she and I would fall in the water. But it was still so cool.

Geneva 3 May 19, 2013 546

Reformation Wall

I also saw a lot if international buildings. We saw WCC, United Nation, and World Health Organization buildings. While we saw the international buildings, there was a guy playing piano in the air. He was hooked onto a crane. It was so cool.  At the UN building, I saw a huge chair with only three legs which means we need to stop countries from putting mines around the world.

Dr. Guillermo from WCC invited us to his house and we ate lots of different food. Everything was delicious.  Dr. Guillermo took us to Nyon, which is a small town outside of Geneva.  He also drove us into France.

We saw the botanical garden. There were lots of plant and flowers. We went to lots of museums. One of them was the Natural History Museum. Then we saw the Reformation Wall where John Calvin is carved into the wall.  This wall was right in front of the University of Geneva.

Geneva 3-b May 20, 2013 083

Jet D’eau

That was all I remember seeing. There were lots more but I forgot.

I enjoyed the trip and hope to go there again!

[read also:  Switzerland, Happy Mother’s Day & Autobiography]

_________________________________________________________________________

web5Joshua is in grade 4 at LVA.  He plays soccer and basketball. He loves to play the violin, piano, and read fiction.

(Photo Credit: Dwight Morita)

