Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Below is a repost of my substack: Loving Life. Please follow me there too.

I am presently going over the typeset pageproofs of my forthcoming book, When God Became White (IVP). It is quite exciting for me to reach this final stage of publishing my new book. This is now my last opportunity to make any edits to my manuscript.

As I go over my typeset pageproofs, I am filled with many emotions. One is of great happiness that my book will soon be out into the world for many to read and grapple with. The other emotion is uneasiness as I have shared parts of my life in this book (as I did in my previous books, such as Invisible).

Whenever I share my life stories, I am a little fearful of people’s judgement or misunderstandings towards me. I become very vulnerable as I have opened up my life for the world to see. Therefore I am filled with some anxiety about writing and reflecting on my life as an immigrant from Korea. However, I teach my seminary students that “theology is biography and biography is theology” and I end up practicing what I teach. I reflect upon my life experiences and contexts to help write and do theology.

I really hope that my new book will be helpful to many readers and that people will find some sort of comfort, humor, deeper learning in reading some of my life stories intertwined with historical, biblical and constructive theology. Please do pre-order my book and share it with your friends, colleagues, students and church.

(related post: When God Became White)

Special Events:

1.Join me at Space for Grace and Spiritual Caregivers Conference, April 9-11, 2024.

2.Join Homebrewed Christianity’s new class “Cosmic Christ’“ with Drs. Tripp Fuller, Diana Butler Bass & Philip Clayton.

3.Please support Gaza, by donating to Bright Stars of Bethlehem who provide scholarships to students at Dar al-Kalima University.

4.Order Decolonizing Palestine with discount code “MAD” for 30%off.

5.Apply to Garrett Seminary for their master degree programs before Feb 1 and you could be eligible to receive one of our highest valued scholarships.