Tags

, , , , , ,

I am honored to be invited to speak at 2017 KOSTA/USA Conference at North Central College, July 3-7, 2017.

There is a good list of seminar speakers and I am excited to be included in this list.  

I will be speaking on “Asian American Identity” and it will be presented bilingually.

I will also share my life journey Wednesday evening in Korean.

I hope to see many folks at this special event.

My Seminar Topic:

Asian Americans live inbetween two cultures. As we do, we find it difficult to live as marginalized people who live under the myth of ‘model minority’ and ‘honorific whites’. These terms tend to diminish all the suffering and pain that Asian Americans have experienced as minority and people of color. Furthermore, Asian American women experience sexism which further places a burden and discrimination on their lives.

As Asian Americans live as minoritized people in the U.S. we ask ourselves, where is God? How are we to become authentic Korean Americans and also be faithful people of God in the wider community? We recognize that it is ultimately the Spirit of God who will liberate us and empower us to work for righteousness and justice.

Please click here to REGISTER.

