Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC_0478I wrote an article for Sojourner’s Magazine (December 2015) entitled, “Strangers in a Strange Land: The God of the Bible often works through “outsider” women.” 

This piece was inspired from my book, Embracing the Other (Eerdmans). 

Here is the link to the full article. Below is an excerpt of my article.

MY FAMILY EMIGRATED from South Korea to Canada in 1975 when my sister and I were 6 and 5 years old, respectively. Before I left Korea, I had no idea where Canada was. With our mother, we boarded a plane that took us to Hawaii, then Alaska, and finally Toronto.

Korean was the only language I had ever spoken. I assumed that everyone spoke Korean. I had no idea what people were saying when I arrived in Toronto. My uncle in Korea gave my sister and me each a cute little necklace to wear with our name, address, and phone number written on the back of it. It was a round red necklace with a picture of an adorable puppy. We wore it around our necks on the plane so that if we got lost, we could more easily ask for help to find our way home.

After 40 years of carrying the necklace with me as I moved from place to place, my children threw it into the garbage last year as they were doing spring cleaning. They thought it was a piece of junk. It may look like junk, but to me it provides a special reminder of my childhood, family, and the home from which I emigrated. Luckily, I liberated it from the garbage before trash day. Now I keep it safe as one of my prized possessions, one of the few things I have left from Korea and from my childhood.

(for the rest of the article, please read the December issue of Sojourner‘s Magazine)

 

DSC_0505

DSC_0492

DSC_0518

 

 

FiWX3ddG_200x200Grace Ji-Sun Kim

Grace Ji-Sun Kim is an associate professor of theology at Earlham School of Religion. She is the author of nine books, including Embracing the Other: The Transformative Spirit of Love. Read more at gracejisunkim.wordpress.com.

– See more at: https://sojo.net/magazine/december-2015/strangers-strange-land#sthash.6nMluY5R.J2eLEDBt.dpuf

 

