Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy New Year!untitled-new

I cannot believe how quickly 2012 flew by.  Lots of good things happened and I am quite happy about how my kids are growing up so quickly.  My kids have kept me real busy throughout the year.  I had to drive them to soccer, ballet, basketball, violin, recitals, performances, birthday parties etcs.,

After a very  busy year, I reflect and think about what I could have done differently or better.  I am sure there are lots of things I could have done better.  Probably my kids will be the first to offer their advice.

The last week of 2012, we spent our Christmas in Toronto.  We had a busy week visiting family and friends, eating Korean food and attending various events.

Screen shot 2013-01-02 at 12 43 11 PM

One night as I was working away on my bed trying to finish off my manuscript, when my youngest crawled up next to me as he often likes to do.  He took my laptop away from me and opened up a new page.  On that page, he started to draw a picture of a boy.  I had no idea that he even knew how to draw pictures on a word document.

I watched him in amazement as he created a little boy on the page.  But what he wrote next topped my expectation.  At the top of the picture, he wrote, “Award for being the Best Mom”.  He hugged me tight, handed me back my laptop and quietly left the room.

What a precious moment!  That hug and picture lifted up my spirits. What  a blessed way to end the year.

This picture will continue to bring me smiles throughout this New Year.

Happy New Year to everyone.  May it be a blessed year for you all.

(read also:  Remember Soccer Moms?:  This Election, It’s Dot.com Moms)

(read also:  My Life as a Chauffeur)

_________________________________________________________________________

blog1Grace Ji-Sun Kim is Associate Professor of Doctrinal Theology and the Director of the MATS program at Moravian Theological Seminary. She is the author of Colonialism, Han and the Transformative Spirit (Palgrave Pivot), The Holy Spirit, Chi, and the Other: A Model of Global and Intercultural Pneumatology (Palgrave Macmillan) and The Grace of Sophia: A Korean North American Women’s Christology (Pilgrim Press).

