Tags

, , , , , , ,

Nov 13, 2011, I finally got ordained in the PC (USA) denomination.  I say finally because i started this ordination process way back in 2002 when I began my M.Div. studies at Knox College.  I went through the entire candidacy process within the Presbyterian Church in Canada.  Then I started my Ph.D. program, got married and had children. It was too difficult to get ordained through it all.

in 2004, I moved to the U.S. to begin teaching at Moravian Theological Seminary.  I began the ordination process again within the Presbyterian Church (USA).  They asked me to begin the process as a candidate again and write 2 of the 4 ordination exams.  I went through the ordination process and was finally approved as a candidate in May 2011.  This led to preparation for the ordination service which occured on Sunday Nov 13, 2011 at the Korean Church of the Lehigh Valley.

The entire process was difficult, stressful and weary.  I am thankful to my friend, Rev. Dr. Valerie Bridgeman for delivering the sermon at my ordination and the members of Lehigh Presbytery for ordaining me and caring for me along the entire process.  I also thank my daughter for singing at my ordination.  What a treat that was for me!

At the end, I have lots of people to be thankful for who helped me each step of the ordination process.  Blessings to all my friends who pushed me, cared for me and pulled me through.

__________________________________________________________________

Grace Ji-Sun Kim is Associate Professor of Doctrinal Theology and the Director of the MATS program at Moravian Theological Seminary in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. She is the author of The Holy Spirit, Chi, and the Other: A Model of Global and Intercultural Pneumatology (Palgrave Macmillan) and The Grace of Sophia: A Korean North American Women’s Christology (Pilgrim Press).

