Tags

, , , , , , , ,

By: Grace Ji Sun Kim

September came in like a lion.

Three kids mean three different school shopping trips.  Each kid requires new clothes, uniforms and new school supplies.  This school shopping has become a greater chore which I like even less towards each year.

My eldest has now begun high school, my second is in middle school and the youngest is still in elementary school. Three kids in three different schools means a lot of work for my husband and I.  Each one has different interests and each have 4 or 5 extra-curricular activities after school. This adds up to about 3 to 4 different activities each day of the week.

Contrary to what it may appear to the outside world, I am no tiger mom.

I am a mom who just wants to keep her kids busy, so that I can actually get some work done in the evenings.  I have enrolled them in various activities since each one was about 3 or 4 years old.  It was all a great plan to keep them busy and out of trouble.  Since my kids have grown accustomed to me signing them up for things, when my youngest was in the second grade, and was tired of going to school, he yelled, “Mom, why did you have to sign me up for school?”

That enrolling has continued and now that they are older and more involved with school activities and homework, the strategy of ‘keeping my kids busy’ has backfired.

If they weren’t busy with all these activities, I could actually relax and enjoy my evenings and weekends in the peace and comfort of my own home.

But since I have foolishly enrolled them in various music lessons, sports and school activities, my evenings are shot, I see my husband through text messages, and I come home late with more stress than anyone would care to have.

Driving them with the help of my husband to several activities each night and weekends is tiresome.  And this is only September.

I am overwhelmed with the anticipation of nine more months, punctuated by heavier clothes, icier roads, and blustery cold, but no break in our taxi service to these adolescent rehearsals and “first nights.”

I am not alone in this predicament.  Moms all over the nation are in this situation.  So I send a salute to all my comrade moms who work, raise a family, answer five calls, and try to remain sane.

Every night before I go to bed, I ask myself, what have I got myself into…..

Oh well, tomorrow is another day…….

(soccer photo credit: Dana Burke)

[for more on motherhood view this column https://gracejisunkim.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/remember-soccer-moms-this-election-its-dot-com-moms/]

__________________________________________________________________

Grace Ji-Sun Kim is Associate Professor of Doctrinal Theology and the Director of the MATS program at Moravian Theological Seminary in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. She is the author of The Holy Spirit, Chi, and the Other: A Model of Global and Intercultural Pneumatology (Palgrave Macmillan) and The Grace of Sophia: A Korean North American Women’s Christology (Pilgrim Press). 

